Search

KING GIZZARD & THE LIZARD WIZARD unveil 'Black Hot Soup'


January 2022 - King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard release a new single/video, “Black Hot Soup (DJ Shadow “My Own Reality” Re-Write),” from their forthcoming remix album, Butterfly 3001, out January 21st on KGLW. Following last month’s “Neu Butterfly (Peaches Remix)” and “Shanghai (Dub By The Scientist),” King Gizzard continue their remix streak with “Black Hot Soup (DJ Shadow “My Own Reality” Re-Write)” and expand on it with an accompanying video directed by John Angus Stewart, starring iconic Australian author, satirist, radio presenter and documentary maker John Safran, and featuring appearances from Alkiviadis Grapsas and John Dimoulas.


"’Black Hot Soup’ is an almost perfect way to describe the world as we know it in the present. A bubbling, thick, sticky, confusing angry place that seems to be made for generations long past. Therefore I wanted to portray a character somehow revelling in the chaos, dancing on the ashes of society. There is an inherent freedom watching someone hitting bottom so hard with a smile. To me it’s a non cynical representation of expression through music! As DJ Shadow fully reworked ‘Black Hot Soup’ I cast John Safran to fully re-work the song again within a performance. Calling it a dance is a stretch, I'd call it more of a full body dry heave.” - John Angus Stewart


King Gizzard’s Joey Walker elaborates: “We’ve put off doing a remix album for a long time. Maybe it was conscious, maybe it wasn’t. But it’s happening now. That’s not to say that Butterfly 3000 makes the most sense to remix. It might seem like the obvious one, but it’s not. Yes it’s electronic. But so is a fridge. Have you tried to dance to Butterfly? It’s hard. It ties your shoelaces together. It’s duplicitous in its simplicity. But Butterfly 3001 expands on this. It also deviates and obliterates. We’re honoured to have such esteemed people go to work on these songs. We hope you love this album as much as we do. See you in DA CLUB!!!”


Listen to “Neu Butterfly” (Peaches Remix)

Listen to “Shanghai” (Dub by The Scientist)

Pre-Order Butterfly 3001


King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard 2022 Tour Dates Sat. Mar. 19 - Buenos Aires, AR @ Lollapalooza Argentina Sat. Mar. 26 - São Paulo, BR @ Lollapalooza Brazil Sun. Mar. 27 - Bogotá, CO @ Festival Estereo Picnic Sun. April 17 - Las Vegas, NV @ Event Lawn at Virgin Hotels Las Vegas % Sun. April 24 - San Luis Obispo, CA @ Madonna Inn $ Tue. April 26 - Sonoma, CA @ Gundlach Bundschu $ Wed. April 27 - Petaluma, CA @ Phoenix Theater $ Sat. April 30 - Atlanta, GA @ Shaky Knees Festival Fri. May 20 - Cleveland, OH @ Agora Theatre Sat. May 21 - Columbus, OH @ Express Live Sun. May 22 - Millvale, PA @ Mr. Smalls Funhouse Tue. May 24 - Rochester, NY @ Water Street Music Hall Wed. May 25 - South Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground Thu. May 26 - South Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground Tue. May 31 - Athens, Greece @ Gagarin 205 Wed. June 1 - Athens, Greece @ Gagarin 205 Fri. June 3 - Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound - SOLD OUT Sun. June 5 - Barcelona, ES @ Primavera in the City Mon. June 6 - Barcelona, ES @ Primavera in the City Tue. June 7 - Barcelona, ES @ Primavera in the City Thu. June 9 - Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound - SOLD OUT Sat. June 11 - Mannheim, DE @ Maifeld Derby Festival Tue. June 14 - Berlin, DE @ Tempodrom Sat. June 18 - Miami, FL @ Space Park Sun. July 31 - Waterford, IE @ All Together Now Tue. Aug. 2 - Šibenik, HR @ St. Michael’s Fortress Wed. Aug. 3 - Šibenik, HR @ St. Michael’s Fortress Fri. Aug. 5 - Prague, CZ @ Archa Theatre Sun. Aug. 7 - Vienna, AT @ Arena Wien (Open Air) Tue. Aug. 9 - Leipzig, DE @ Parkbühne Wed. Aug. 10 - Munich, DE @ Tonhalle Fri. Aug. 12 - Sion, CH @ Palp Festival Thu. Aug. 18 - Paredes de Coura, PT @ Paredes de Coura Festival Fri. Aug. 19 - Gueret, FR @ Check-In Party Festival Sat. Aug. 20 - Saint-Malo, FR @ La Route du Rock Festival Tue. Aug. 23 - Cologne, DE @ E-Werk Wed. Aug. 24 - Hamburg, DE @ Markthalle Sat. Aug. 27 - Málaga, ES @ Canela Party Sun. Oct. 2 - Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theatre * Tue. Oct. 4 - Portland, OR @ Roseland Theater* Wed. Oct. 5 - Vancouver, BC @ PNE Forum* Thu. Oct. 6 - Seattle, WA @ Paramount * Mon. Oc. 10 - Morrison, CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheatre* - SOLD OUT Tue. Oct. 11 - Morrison, CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheatre* - SOLD OUT Fri. Oct. 14 - St Paul, MN @ The Palace Theatre* - SOLD OUT Sat. Oct. 15 - Chicago, IL @ RADIUS* Sun. Oct. 16 - Detroit, MI @ Masonic Temple* Tue. Oct. 18 - Toronto, ON @ History* Wed. Oct. 19 - Montreal, QC @ L’Olympia* Fri. Oct. 21 - New York, NY @ Forest Hills Stadium* Sat. Oct. 22 - Philadelphia, PA @ Franklin Music Hall* Sun. Oct. 23 - Washington, DC @ The Anthem at The Wharf* Mon. Oct. 24 - Asheville, NC @ Rabbit Rabbit* Wed. Oct. 26 - Atlanta, GA @ The Eastern* Thu. Oct. 27 - New Orleans, LA @ Orpheum Theater * Mon. Oc. 31 - Oklahoma City, OK @ The Criterion # % w/ Amyl and the Sniffers, SPELLLING, Dj Crenshaw $ w/ SPELLLING, DJ Crenshaw * w/ Leah Senior # w/ The Murlocs, Leah Senior


King Gizzard & The Wizard Lizard Online:

https://kinggizzardandthelizardwizard.com/

https://www.instagram.com/kinggizzard/

https://www.facebook.com/kinggizzardandthelizardwizard/

https://twitter.com/kinggizzard

https://kinggizzard.bandcamp.com/

https://gizzverse.com/